09
Feb
09

sunday brunch

Huevos Rancheros by my dad

Huevos Rancheros by my dad

Faux-Huevos by me

Faux-Huevos by me

My friend Jess first turned me onto Huevos rancheros at the Life Cafe, and I have been sooo into them ever since. I would totally buy a corsage and take this delicious Mexican dish to prom if the opportunity were to present itself at this point in my life. That’s pretty unlikely (I’m SURE I’d have other, less-inanimate offers), so instead I’ve decided to make an honest dish out of them by learning to prepare them properly. Well, that, and brunch has become a luxury at this stage in the shiiiiitty economy game.

I was home in Florida for the holidays and lobbied to get my dad to make Huevos for the whole fam. True to form, he was all, “Don’t expect much because I’ve never made them before. Let me finish making my own cream cheese first and I’ll get right on it.” Ok that’s a slight exaggeration, but he really does make everything from scratch. It’s because of him that I can’t even enjoy Funfetti cake, which I had a LOT of resentment about in college. I’ve since let that go. He prepared the refried beans, mexican cheese, fried eggs and salsa as you see above. I actually made the chips out of whole wheat tortillas, which I cut into triangles, sprayed with olive oil and salted, and then baked in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes. And the little parsley garnish was my dad’s doing. Awww.

I was planning to make Huevos all week, but the health freak in me totally turned up her nose at corn chips or multiple eggs. Then I flirted with the idea of baking my own corn chips, but decided that was a little labor-intensive for a Sunday morning. What you see to the right is my Huevo, which I pan-fried alongside some jalapeno refried black beans and habanero lime salsa.

Standing in for the corn chips are baked polenta topped with paprika and jalapeno jack soy cheese. I was a soy cheese virgin before this morning, by the way. I was pleased with the taste and it was easy to shred, though. I’ll be a soy cheese whore by the weekend. Polenta (which I buy pre-made in a tube for $1.99 at Trader Joe’s) is the best poor man’s food EVER. I cut them into disks and baked them for 12 minutes in 425 degrees. Success.

the baby polentas are baking

the baby polentas are baking

I always have a hard time deciding what to eat before the gym, because I don’t want to burn out mid-run but I’m realllly opposed to vomming on the treadmill. I’m not sure why that is? After my little Mexican feast, I walked the two miles to the gym and then worked out. It was upper 50s today and sunny, so I basically had to use force to keep myself from breaking out the shorts. We’re talking NYC in FEBRUARY! It was amaaazing. Anyways, my brunch was successful in keeping me full while I ran a couple of miles and did legs and abs strength training. I even walked the two miles home, bitches. Viva Mexico!

0 Responses to “sunday brunch”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Categories


