17
Feb
09

fish tacos.

I guess I should be forthcoming with my recent issues, because it’s probably coming across in my writing. It’s hard to admit, but Gym and I have had a hard time keeping it interesting as of late. We’ve fallen into a rut, as much as I swore that would NEVER happen to us. We’re so into each other! And I’m experimental; it’s not like I reach for the same machine each time. I’m willing to hit the treadmill really hard one day, and then totally snub it for a week in favor of a class, the elliptical, cybex, or stair stepper. The only thing I’ve yet to try is the stationary bike. I don’t really think it’s FOR us, not that I’m judging those who prefer it.

Anyways, it’s pretty unacceptable for me to be bored, so I’m stepping up my efforts. Tomorrow, for example, I’m taking a “belly moves” class. I’ll be damned if I’m letting our time together become “routine.”

To compensate for my treadmill and strength training (ugh, SO vanilla) weekend, my roomie and I prepared flavorful fish tacos for dinner. Weirdly enough, I had never actually prepared them before. I’ve had LOTS of memorable experiences with Tilapia, though (heya baby ;-)), so I wasn’t all that intimidated. I originally planned to marinade them, but then I came across this OBSCENELY easy recipe for mango chutney that I knew would complement my fish oh so well: it calls for one mango, 2 tsp of cilantro, and a dash of cayenne pepper. THAT’S IT. I could basically whip it up in a vivid dream. I can’t be trusted with knives in my sleep, though, so I had my roomie make it while fully alert. Safety first.

I was determined to make my own hard tacos, so I followed this recipe to do so. It instructs you to drape the tortillas, which you first coat with canola oil and cayenne pepper, over the wire oven rack for 7-10 min at 375 degrees. One burnt batch taught me that my super fast gas oven only allowed for a 4 min cooking time at 350. See below for the second batch mid-bake:

my precious crispy tacos

my precious crispy tacos

Meanwhile, I followed a little recipe courtesy of my friend Lauren. She sautees the fish WITH green bell peppers, onions, and olive oil. I started to cook the veggies first, and rubbed the fillets with salt, pepper, lemon pepper, and lemon juice. Once the veggies started to tenderize, I threw the fish in the pan and cooked it all like one big, happy family. I also added a little cilantro. See below for proof:

the innards

the innards

Once the fish were fully cooked, I hacked them up into bite-sized chunks. All the better to eat with, my dear. We had a smorgasbord of homemade guacamole, salsa, pepper jack cheese, and mango chutney for toppings. The meal was complete with a side of corn and a couple of Sam Adams. Mexican-American. Delicious!

mango chutney, guac, salsa and corn.

counterclockwise from taco: mango chutney, guac, salsa and corn.

0 Responses to “fish tacos.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Categories


