23
Feb
09

green goddess.

I used to be so anti-egg yolk. If a yolk came up to me at a party, I’d sooner pretend to have a concussion that rendered me incapable of placing its identity rather than force pleasantries. I’d make a beeline for the closest safe haven (i.e. buttermilk pancakes drowning in Type 2 Diabetes-invoking syrup? So be it), and pretend to have been craving its company all morning. THAT’S how opposed I was.

About a year ago, though, I realized I need sauce in my life like a conjoined twin needs her..twin? I can’t survive without them, and there’s a good chance the honey mustard industry could not have prospered if it weren’t for my undying affection through the whole of the 1990s. And, what is egg yolk (excluding when it’s hard boiled) if not a delicious sauce? So, yolk and I had one of those slow motion running movie embraces, and we’ve been good ever since.

Having said that, I enjoy an egg white omelette at times. This Sunday, I decided to do just that, chopping up zucchini, avocado and spinach for my fillings. It was a sort of green goddess-type situation. How apropos šŸ™‚ I only used two whites in a medium-sized pan, so the omelette itself was a leeeettle on the thin side. It happens. On the side, I had some grits that I made on the stove top, to which I added a jalapeno pepper and Camembert cheese in the last two min of cooking. The result? A green goddess and her spicy counterpart. Yum.

egg white omelette with zucchini, avocado and spinach alongside jalapeno cheese grits

egg white omelette with zucchini, avocado and spinach alongside jalapeno cheese grits[/captiolk

0 Responses to “green goddess.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

Categories


