11
Mar
09

edamame burgers.

I loathe faux meat. There’s something deceitful about spaghetti and “wheat”balls, right? I find it offensive. If one feels the need to eat meat-shaped tofu, I feel like he or she should probably cut the cord on the vegetarian lifestyle. It’s not meant to be, jackass. I’m doing this for your own good.

That being said, veggie burgers are fantastic. Is that a double standard you see? Maybe, though I tried really, really hard to bury it in all my glibness. I’ve made black bean and tofu burgers several hundred times (slight exaggeration), and I once made eggplant and tofu burgers that came out ever so crumbly yet edible nonetheless. Once I figured out that egg whites and bread crumbs can do WONDERS for patty-binding, I was golden. I can’t really be trusted around french fries, so I’m a fan of making zucchini, eggplant, or polenta fries to accompany. SO good.

I made the third incarnation of my veggie burger last night using a pound of frozen and thawed edamame, one grated carrot, two egg whites, and about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. I mushed the ingredients together with a hand-held mixer, and then got handsy with them to form six patties. I pan-fried them in some canola oil, which you see to your immediate right:

edamame burgers

edamame burgers

For my sexy side dish, I tossed some sliced cremini (AKA baby portobello) mushrooms with a chopped shallot, one minced garlic clove, and a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. I roasted them in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes. I’m not sure the angle and lighting do my shrooms any justice, but see below:

shrooms

shrooms

I tried to make a wasabi vinaigrette to drizzle on my burgers, so I combined lemon juice, rice wine vinegar and wasabi paste. Unfortunately, I got cocky and decided to wing it. It came out MUCH too runny, and my last-minute attempt to add flour to thicken it proved futile. And yucky. I set it aside to use for a future salad dressing, and instead served my burgers with a squeeze of wasabi paste and hot mustard. I stuffed my burger in a whole wheat pita, and enjoyed oh so much:

edamame burger and roasted shrooms

edamame burger and roasted shrooms

0 Responses to “edamame burgers.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


