23
Mar
09

baked salmon and roasted potatoes.

It’s important to note that I made the following meal last week, but I’ve been so busy re-discovering morning workouts that I am just now getting around to posting. In the past, I had good intentions with a morning routine, but I attended one unsettling spinning class and quickly pegged the a.m. as the red-headed stepchild of time frames. It’s been several months since that manic class, so I decided to give it another go.

My new place of business is close to one of the nicer gyms in my chain (I have a passport gym membership, meaning I can go to any in the city), so I started my day with said gym twice last week. The vibe there is surprisingly great for the morning, and it was way less vom-inducing than the gym of morning workouts’ past. I was able to run two miles and do a full weights routine before my day even started. I dare say I’m hooked.

To reward myself for my pre-dawn energy, I decided to make my favorite food last week. Well, Rice Krispee Treats would totally counteract all that hard work, so I settled for my second favorite: salmon. There was a restaurant in my college town that served fish with different chutney-like fruit salsas (i.e. kiwi, mango, pineapple, etc), and I always thought it was, like, equal parts colorful and delicious. As an homage to Cabana Cove, I made baked salmon with avocado, mango and black bean salsa.

The salsa is absurdly easy to make. I started by chopping half an avocado, half a can of black beans, and chunks of frozen mango. Then, I added a little lime juice and some cilantro until it looked like this:

salsaaaa

salsaaaa

Meanwhile, I cut some red potatoes into chunks and tossed with olive oil, a couple cloves of minced garlic, chopped shallots, salt and pepper. I tossed them onto the top rack of the oven at 400 degrees.

I patted the defrosted salmon with salt, pepper, lemon pepper, cayenne pepper, and lemon juice. My potatoes had been cooking for about 10-15 min when I reduced the heat to 350 to accommodate my salmon. At first, I placed the salmon on the bottom rack of the oven while my potatoes sat high and mighty on top. They were in those positions for maybe 5 minutes, during which time I had like 5 conscious nightmares about my salmon getting charred and inedible and generally undesirable. I decided to flip racks, which of course resulted in a little burn on my right arm. I got my first sweat and spicy battle scar 😦

It was worth it, I guess, because my salmon emerged looking all tempting and, I hate to say it, far superior to Rice Krispee Treats:

fishy

fishy

They say looks are subjective, but I challenge someone not to be attracted to that fillet. If I had more patience, I would have let the potatoes cook for longer, because they came out only slightly crispy after 35 minutes in the oven. The shallots and garlic were charred beyond recognition, of course. The fruity/spicy dynamic was dead on, though. See below:

fruit salsa, roasted potatoes and spicy salmon

fruit salsa, roasted potatoes and spicy salmon

0 Responses to “baked salmon and roasted potatoes.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


