04
Apr
09

salmon sammich.

I have had a lifetime of disappointing thawing stories. For instance, I once thawed some salmon steaks in college, only to get home at such a mature hour (10ish, prob) that pasta was the only logical choice. I had PLANS for that salmon, yet my precalc-crammed brain was incapable of bringing anything to fruition. Except, like, spaghetti with olive oil, lemon juice and Parmesan cheese, AKA my old standby. Reliable, simple, yet pales to what can ONLY be described as ghastly in comparison to blackened salmon steaks.

A few similar experiences turned me against thawing for quite some time, but Thursday morning, pre-gym (2 weeks strong!) I decided to throw caution against the wind and thaw a salmon fillet. Lady balls to the wall, right?! Amazingly, I made it home that night at a somewhat reasonable hour (9ish, I think), and started making my salmon sandwich.

I seasoned my fillet with lemon juice, salt, pepper, and lemon pepper, and baked it in the aforementioned aluminum foil pocket at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. While it was baking, I chopped some zucchini for a side of “fries.”

Side bar: fries are fantastic. There, I said it. I’m really into health and all that, but Pommes Frites is probably in my top five of Places I’d Like to Die By. Seriously, I’d like to eat four pounds of those delicious Belgian fries soaked in pomegranate teriyaki sauce in one sitting, and then die while waiting for my heart to gain its bearings amongst all that sodium and cholesterol. Too much?

That said, I am a fan of substituting fries with veggies like zucchini or eggplant, dipping them in milk and then a bread crumb and cayenne pepper mixture, and then baking them in the toaster oven for 20 minutes at 425 degrees. I proceeded to do just that on Thursday, which you’ll see to your immediate right:

zucchinis, mid bake

zucchinis, mid bake

Meanwhile, I plugged in my famed Panini Press and made some dill dip, recipe courtesy of my dad. It consists of plain yogurt (nonfat, but of course), lemon juice, chopped dill, salt, pepper, and a little Dijon mustard. Once my salmon was done in the oven, I cut a loaf of ciabatta bread and pre-toasted it in the Press for 3-4 minutes. Then, I topped one side with salmon covered in arugula and its partner with some dill dip which you’ll see below:

salmon sandwich, mid-press

salmon sandwich, mid-press

Isn’t she lovely? By the time my sandwich was lovingly pressed together for approx five minutes, my zucchini fries were finishing up in the toaster oven. I served the fries with a giant pool of dill dip, because I loves to dip, and I’ve never pretended otherwise. The sandwich was really great, and the dill sauce was just spicy enough to contrast with the arugula perrrfectly. See below for my feast, and please excuse the unnatural ghastly appearance of my dill dip. I assure you it had far more melanin in person:

salmon sandwich with dill dip and arugula, served alongside zucchini fries

salmon sandwich with dill dip and arugula, served alongside zucchini fries

1 Response to “salmon sammich.”


  1. April 7, 2009 at 9:25 pm

    Why, my, my you DO loves to cook, little girl. Where are MY dishes? Time for another dinner!!! Panini night, I think…


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories


