05
May
09

ceviche.

My pain tolerance is beyond weak. Massages are mostly torture for me, and I’m uncomfortable if it dips below 75 degrees. That being said, I’m still trying to figure out how I can down sooo much cayenne pepper in one sitting and be all, “well that was flavorful and not at all unpleasant.” I can handle spice like no other. It really doesn’t make sense.

I made spicy ceviche for the first time tonight. I’ve always been kind of terrified of cold soup, but I think the absence of broth makes it way more salad-y than soup-y. And I basically invented salads, so this speaks to me. This morning, I started the process by marinating a fillet of red snapper and some pre-cooked shrimp in the juice of four limes. I left my seafood to soak in the refrigerator  while I ran off the tend to my other love, the gym. I ran the standard couple of miles and did some arms and back strength training, and then I actually managed to do ab work. I kind of loathe crunches, so that was a feat.

Meanwhile, my snapper was all cooking away in the limes’ acidity. When I got home from work, I rounded up the rest of my ceviche fillers. I started with a red onion and a yellow bell pepper:

fillers

fillers

Both are equal parts colorful and crunchy, right? And they definitely don’t skimp on the flavor which I appreciate. When all was said and done, I added about half of each, and then cut up half an avocado, a few roma tomatoes, and a fair amount of cilantro. Then, I drained my fish and shrimp and diced up my fish, and finally tossed the whole thing together. I added olive oil, salt, pepper, and my beloved cayenne pepper, and it was good to go.

I’m always proud of my dinners, but this time I was pretty much an obnoxious stage mom. Usually, I serve almost everything with some form of salsa, chutney, or sauce (I’m a life-long dipper), but this time I ate it in its most pure, undressed state. It was just that good. See below:

spicy ceviche

spicy ceviche

0 Responses to “ceviche.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories


