12
Oct
09

roasted potatoes and veggies.

Exciting things are on tap. First off, autumn has officially hit NYC and it’s all about Gator football and winter squashes, both of which I can’t get enough of these days. Also, pumpkins are back! Welcome home, my lovelies. I missed them so. Finally, I’m getting back in the workout mindset after months of going through the motions. Maybe I haven’t mentioned it, but I’ve been all drag ass-y lately. I skipped the gym twice last week. WHO AM I?!?

In honor of change, I decided to cook with potatoes. It’s so rare for me to buy and/or cook with potatoes, although I’m not trying to spit in my Eastern European heritage’s face. To be fair, I tried to keep them on hand in college, but their whole “cool, dry” storage instructions pretty much guaranteed I’d have rotten Russets in my cabinet for weeks before I found the source of the smell. Also, they’re heavy, and I have to lug my groceries several blocks. 

I bought a bunch of Fingerling potatoes at the farmer’s market, though, and I got the kind of excited that I usually reserve for $0.99 cheese. Not only are they lightweight, but they’re way easy to clean. Who needs a dirt coated Russet? Very few people. Fingerlings are the way to go for those who loathe long meal preps and shoulder strain.

In keeping with change, I decided to buy carrots to add in the mix. I’m so wild and adventurous. I also bought my regulation grape tomatoes, and then I decided to – wait for it – roast it all. I came thisclose to getting out of that comfort zone. 

I’ve always wanted to reduce something, so I started with some balsamic vinegar and honey. I added a tablespoon of honey to 1/4 cup vinegar and brought both to a boil on the stove top. It got all bubbly and delicious:

mama's first reduction

mama's first reduction

 

I brought the mix down and let it simmer for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, I chopped the Fingerlings and cut the carrots into matchsticks. I also diced a shallot and left the tomatoes whole. I tossed all in some olive oil and roasted it in a 450 degree oven for 20 minutes. 

Since it was my first reduction, I started preparing it too early in the process. The timing was a little off, and the potatoes were still softening while the reduction was, like, halfway out the door and ready to go. I let it sit on low heat for a little and tried to trick it into thinking it wasn’t quite done, but the reduction saw through me. As a result, it turned out a little too thick and molasses-like. I drizzled it atop my veggies, but within two minutes it was solid like candy. I kind of loved it anyways. See below:

 

roasted potatoes and veggies in a balsamic honey reduction

roasted potatoes and veggies in a balsamic honey reduction

0 Responses to “roasted potatoes and veggies.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories


