27
Aug
10

salmon and peas.

I’m going through some changes right now. It’s almost, like, pubescent or something. It all started with this lamb chop fascination, and the next thing I know I find myself in line at a Giada book signing (jealy?) thinking that I will eat the pasta apps they’re handing out regardless of any potential pancetta. Who am I? After minutes of introspection, I’ve decided to eventually ditch vegetarianism. Jesus, what a weight off my shoulders. This isn’t something happening today, tomorrow, or even a month from now, but I know it’s in my future. Just knowing it’s out there is kind of reassuring, though, because I often question my love of food seeing as how I cut out 95% of my options at all times. Now I’m just waiting for that moment like the one that made me a vegetarian in the first place. I was at my cousin’s wedding eating appetizers, and some chicken roll-up or something showed its face (figuratively). I thought, “And I’m done,” and haven’t touched chicken or turkey since. I guess I’m waiting for the inverse to happen or something. An “And I’m ready” moment, whatever that may be. Hold tight.

This whole meaty-future promise has me thinking protein, and so my meals have been pretty protein focused these days. And get this — I’ve totally started to eat fewer calories. I’ve realized that the reason I snack is because I’m rarely full, and that’s where protein is oh-so-reliable. And so, I turn to my girl Giada for inspiration. I made this amazeballs salmon last week. Not only is is lovely when assembled, but it’s also like the easiest dish I’ve ever made:

pea pesto

Lemon Brodetto:

2 tbsp olive oil

1 shallot, diced

2 lemons, juiced

1 lemon, zested

2 cups chicken broth

1 tablespoon chopped fresh mint leaves

4 (4-6 oz) pieces of salmon

Pea Puree:

lemon

10 oz frozen peas, thawed

1/4 c fresh mint

1 clove garlic

1/2 c olive oil

1/2 c Parmesan

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

To make the Lemon Brodetto, warm the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the shallots and saute for about 7 minutes. Add lemon juice, zest, and broth, and simmer. And that part is good to go.

Meanwhile, combine the peas, mint, garlic, salt, and pepper in a food processor and puree. I lurve this part, because the food processor has become my default appliance these days. Add the olive oil while everything is mixing, then move to a bowl and stir in the Parm. Aaaand we’re done with that part.

To make the Salmon, season with salt and pepper and cook in olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Sear about 4 to 5 minutes on each side. And that part is done as well.

To assemble, add the tablespoon chopped mint to the Lemon Brodetto and pour into a shallow bowl. Place a large spoonful of Pea Puree into the center of the bowl as a sweet little salmon bed, and then lay that salmon on top. Easiest meal EVA and oh so easy on the eyes. See below for the final dish:

salmon in lemon brodetto with pea puree

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


